Helmet Laws

Who MUST wear a helmet on a motorcycle.

(Trike laws may differ)

Alabama – all riders

Alaska – 17 and younger (1)

Arizona – 17 and younger

Arkansas – 20 and younger

California – all riders

Colorado – 17 and younger and passengers 17 and younger

Connecticut – 17 and younger

Delaware – 18 and younger (2)

District of Columbia – all riders

Florida – 20 and younger (3)

Georgia – all riders

Hawaii – 17 and younger

Idaho – 17 and younger

Illinois – no law

Indiana – 17 and younger

Iowa – no law

Kansas – 17 and younger

Kentucky – 20 and younger (4)

Louisiana – all riders

Maine – 17 and younger (5)

Maryland – all riders

Massachusetts – all riders

Michigan – 20 and younger (13)

Minnesota – 17 and younger (6)

Mississippi – all riders

Missouri – all riders

Montana – 17 and younger

Nebraska – all riders

Nevada – all riders

New Hampshire – no law

New Jersey – all riders

New Mexico – 17 and younger

New York – all riders

North Carolina – all riders

North Dakota – 17 and younger (7)

Ohio – 17 and younger (8)

Oklahoma – 17 and younger

Oregon – all riders

Pennsylvania – 20 and younger (9)

Rhode Island – 20 and younger (10)

South Carolina – 20 and younger

South Dakota – 17 and younger

Tennessee – all riders

Texas – 20 and younger (11)

Utah – 17 and younger

Vermont – all riders

Virginia – all riders

Washington – all riders

West Virginia – all riders

Wisconsin – 17 and younger (12)

Wyoming – 17 and younger

NOTES:

1 – Alaska’s motorcycle helmet use law covers passengers of all ages, operators younger than 18, and operators with instructional permits.

2 – In Delaware, every motorcycle operator or rider age 19 and older shall have in their possession a safety helmet approved by the Secretary.

3 – In Florida, the law requires that all riders younger than 21 years wear helmets, without exception. Those 21 years and older may ride without helmets only if they can show proof that they are covered by a medical insurance policy.

4 – In Kentucky, the law requires that all riders younger than 21 years wear helmets, without exception. Those 21 years and older may ride without helmets only if they can show proof that they are covered by a medical insurance policy. Motorcycle helmet laws in Kentucky also cover operators with instructional/learner’s permits.

5 – Motorcycle helmet laws in Maine cover operators with instructional/learner’s permits and operators in their first year of licensure. Maine’s motorcycle helmet use law also covers passengers 17 years and younger and passengers if their operators are required to wear a helmet.

6 – Motorcycle helmet laws in Minnesota cover operators with instructional/learner’s permits.

7 – North Dakota’s motorcycle helmet use law covers all passengers traveling with operators who are covered by the law.

8 – Ohio’s motorcycle helmet use law covers all operators during the first year of licensure and all passengers of operators who are covered by the law.

9 – Pennsylvania’s motorcycle helmet use law covers all operators during the first two years of licensure unless the operator has completed the safety course approved by PennDOT or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.

10 – Rhode Island’s motorcycle helmet use law covers all passengers (regardless of age) and all operators during the first year of licensure (regardless of age).

11 – Texas exempts riders 21 years or older if they can either show proof of successfully completing a motorcycle operator training and safety course or can show proof of having a medical insurance policy. A peace officer may not stop or detain a person who is the operator of or a passenger on a motorcycle for the sole purpose of determining whether the person has successfully completed the motorcycle operator training and safety course or is covered by a health insurance plan.

12 – Motorcycle helmet laws in Wisconsin cover operators with instructional/learner’s permits.

13 – must be 21 and have passed a motorcycle safety course within the past two years and carry additional $20,000 in medical insurance.